***new address***

Prof. Robert Ernst  

Professor for Molecular Biology

University of Saarland
School of Medicine

Institute of Biochemistry
Kirrberger Strasse
Building 61.4
66421 Homburg (Saar)

AK Ernst
++49 6841 16 47875




19.5.2017: Harry wins poster price at the 13th Yeast Lipid Conference in Paris. The conference lipid scientists from around the globe. Harry is a fellow of the Austrian Science Fund FWF and is working on the specificity of protein-lipid and protein-membrane interactions. Great stuff, Harry!

10.5.2017: Check out our new lab in Homburg. A photo of our new lab space can be seen in the Campus journal by the University of Saarland here.

15.4.2017: Robert is featured by the Journal of Cell Science as 'Cell Scientists to Watch'. Read about his motivation, path, and hobbies in the current issue of the journal here

1.4.2017: Our proposal "Design principles of living membranes" for the funding scheme "Life?" by the VW foundation has been rewarded with a research grant! It is a joint project with our dear friends Ilya Levental (UTH Houston, Texas, USA), James Sáenz (TU Dresden, GER) and Maya Schuldiner (Weizmann Institute, Tel Aviv, ISR). Fantastico! Go team, go!

Molecular Membrane Biology group
Stephanie Ballweg

PhD Student
+49-69-798 42524 (office)
e-mail st.ballweg (at) stud.uni-frankfurt.de

Robert Ernst

Group Leader
+49-69-798 42524 (office)
phone +49-69-798 42523 (lab)
fax +49-69-798 763 42524  
email robert.ernst (at) uks.eu

Harald Hofbauer

phone +49-69-798 42524 (office)
e-mail harald.f.hofbauer (at) gmail.com

Kristina Pesek

PhD Student
phone +49-69-798 42524 (office)
e-mail pesek (at) em.uni-frankfurt.de

John Reinhard

PhD Student
phone +49-69-798 42524 (office)

Kim Wendrich

Master Student
phone +49-69-798 42524 (office)

Elena Wiederhold

Laboratory Manager
phone +49-69-798 42524 (office)
e-mail wiederhold (at) em.uni-frankfurt.de

Former Group Members

Irina Stier (Diploma Student)
Dr. James Saenz (visiting Scientist)
Idil Kostul (Erasmus Student)
Florian Wernig (Bachelor Student)
Maja Rennig (Diploma Student)
Dr. Claudius Stordeur (Postdoc)
Julian Wagner (Diploma Student)
Laura Henke (Bachelor Student)
Elena Veyts (Bachelor Student)
John Reinhard (Diploma Student)
Michael Fuss (Bachelor Student)
Jonas Michaelis (PhD Student)
Julian Bruckert (Bachelor Student)
Michael Gecht (Master Student)
Kristina Halbleib (PhD Student)